Under Florida law the following credit hours count towards excess credit hours:
Under Florida law the following credit hours do not count toward excess credit hours:
When you elect to change your major, it invokes another review of your transfer credit to determine if additional transfer courses now apply to your new major. It is possible that your new major selection will change which courses are degree applicable. Important Note: Once this additional review has been completed, the additional transfer courses that are determined to be applicable toward the new major will be added to your Excess Hour Counter.
An initial review will determine if any credits you transferred to UF prior to attending UF for the first time apply to your Excess Credit Hour Counter. Since you do not have a declared major, credits applied will be determined by what courses are applicable to most majors, such as General Education coursework, University Tracking, etc. Once you declare a major, any additional credits that can apply toward the major will be determined and added to your Excess Credit Counter.
The Excess Hours Surcharge will be assessed based upon the student's primary degree/major. Excess Hours Surcharges associated with courses required to complete the second degree/major and NOT also required to complete the first degree/major will be temporarily deferred until it is determined that graduation with both degrees/majors has been confirmed. Once confirmed, the second degree/major credit hours will be permanently exempted. If graduation for both degrees/majors is not confirmed the second degree/major credit hours will be retroactively assessed the Excess Hours Surcharge for all credit hours that were temporarily exempted. Non-payment of this surcharge will prevent the release of diplomas and transcripts. If you have added a dual degree or double major and are unclear about your Excess Hours Surcharge status, you are encouraged to speak with your academic advisor about your Excess Credit Hour Surcharge status.
Second bachelor's degrees are not excluded from the Excess Credit Hour law. However, since most second bachelor's degrees only require that you complete an extra 30-40 hours, you most likely will not end up in an excess credit hour situation. Students beginning Fall 2009 - Summer B 2011 would not be assessed the excess credit hour surcharge until they had exceeded 120% of the hours required for the degree program. In most cases this would be 144 hours. This means you would need to take more than 144 hours for your second degree before you are assessed the surcharge. Students beginning Fall 2011 and later would not be assessed the excess credit hour surcharge until they had exceeded 115% of the hours required for the degree program. In most cases this would be 138 hours. This means you would need to take more than 138 hours for your second degree before you are assessed the surcharge.
Once the official drop/add period has ended for the current term, all courses you are currently registered for will be included.
Internships, whether optional or required, are excluded from your counter. The university will exclude these hours automatically from your excess credit count whenever possible. However, it is not always possible to identify internships on the academic record of a student, especially when taken at another institution. If you feel that your excess credit hour total includes internship hours, you should submit an appeal for an adjustment. Cooperative educational experiences, directed individual studies, and other one-on-one instructional courses are not considered internships under this law.
Certain courses that have as part of the class instruction preparation for a professional certification exam may be excluded from your excess credit count. Examples of these might be a computer science class that prepares you for a Microsoft certification exam or a foundational education class that prepares you for a teacher certification exam. In these cases, the one specific course that prepares you for the exam may be excluded from your counter, but not all courses in the degree program.
All credit earned while on active duty is exempt from the Excess Credit Hour law. Documenting active duty military service is something that we do not currently track, so it is critical that you let us know of any credit that you have earned while on active duty. You will need to submit a written request and you should include a copy of your DD214 as part of the appeal.
Yes, graduate courses are included in your Excess Credit Hour count if they are taken while pursuing your baccalaureate degree and you have not been approved for a combined degree program. Combined degree graduate credit that is used for the undergraduate and graduate degree will be excluded.
Effective July 1st, 2018, non-transfer students that graduate within four years of their initial enrollment at UF and incur excess hours surcharges will have up to 12 credits of their surcharge refunded after graduation. If applicable, this refund will occur at the beginning of the next term after drop/add. See regulation 21(c) for more information.